Board of Directors
Mr. Ashok Sethi - Chairman More
Mr. Praveer Sinha - Director More
Mr. Ajay Kapoor - Director More
Ms. Kiran Gupta - Director More
Mr. Sanjeev Mehra - Managing Director More
Mr. Ashok Sethi - Chairman
Mr. Ashok Sethi, a metallurgical engineer from IIT, Kharagpur, started his career as a Mechanical maintenance engineer at Tata Power's Trombay Thermal Power plant. He was associated with the erection & commissioning of India's first 500 MW thermal unit with multi-fuel firing facility and Quality Assurance & commissioning of second 500MW unit. Mr. Sethi subsequently headed Mechanical Maintenance, Planning and Coal handling plant O and M for 1330 MW Trombay station. He assumed charge of three Hydro power stations of Tata Power in 2004
and in addition, from 2006 he was also responsible for T and D business area. In 2007, as Sr. General Manager he was heading Commercial Operations covering Regulatory, Corporate Sourcing, Fuel procurement and Customer relations for the License Area-Mumbai. Mr Sethi assumed the charge of Vice President, License Area Operations, Mumbai from 2008. He is responsible for Thermal & Hydro Stations, Load Control Center, Revenue collection, Customer relations, Demand Side Management and Fuel logistic for its thermal plants.
During the above tenure, Mr Sethi has presented number of papers at conferences organized by NITIE, IIPE, NTPC, CII etc.
Mr. Praveer Sinha - Director
Mr. Praveer Sinha
Mr. Praveer Sinha has over three decades of experience in the power sector and has been credited with transforming the power distribution sector and development and setting up of greenfield and brownfield power plants in India and abroad.
Mr. Sinha holds a Master's Degree in Business Law from National Law School, Bengaluru and is also professionally trained as an Electrical Engineer. He is also a member of the Faculty Board at Faculty of Management Studies and a member of Board of Governors at the Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi. He is a Research Scholar at the Indian Institute of Technology Delhi and is also a visiting Scholar at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston, USA.
He is presently, CEO and Managing Director of The Tata Power Company Limited (Tata Power). Before his appointment in Tata Power, Mr. Sinha was the CEO & Managing Director of Tata Power Delhi Distribution Limited (Tata Power-DDL). Tata Power-DDL is a Public Private Partnership (Joint Venture) between the Company and Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi, supplying power to over seven million people in North and North-West Delhi.
Mr. Ajay Kapoor - Director
Ajay Kapoor
Mr. Ajay Kapoor is the CFO & Chief-Legal & Regulatory and joined Tata Power-DDL in October 2002, when the company had almost started its operations on taking over the erstwhile DVB's distribution business in North and North West Delhi. Mr. Kapoor is an Honors graduate from the prestigious Shri Ram College of Commerce, Delhi University, India. A qualified Chartered Accountant he also holds MBA and LL.B degrees. He has been a rank holder in the CA course, and topper of his batch in MBA for which he was awarded the Gold Medal.
He is an alumni of Columbia Business School, NY. He has also attended Executive Education Programs of Stern Business School and Columbia Business School, New York. He was also a participant at Tata Group Strategic Leadership Seminar, apex training program me of Tata Group, conducted by Harvard Business School.
He completed his articled training with M/s. Lovelock and Lewes (Indian associates of erstwhile Coopers & Lybrand - now merged as PwC) and post qualification he has worked with ITC Limited, Hitech Drilling, (a joint venture of Tata Group and Schlumberger of France in the Oil and Gas drilling business), Network Ltd., etc. in a career spanning 30 years. He has extensive experience in all areas of finance, ERP implementations, and has handled matters relating to international collaborations, joint ventures in India and abroad, financial restructuring, policy advocacy, capital raising, and acquisition besides handling legal advisory and has handled electricity litigation matters at all levels/forums for Tata Power-DDL.
During his tenure as CFO, Tata Power-DDL was awarded the 'National Award for Excellence in Cost Management' in the category of "Service Sector with turnover of more than 1,000 Crores" by the Institute of Cost & Works Accountants of India (ICWAI) in 2007 and again in 2013 & 2015. This was for the first time in India that any electricity distribution company was conferred an award for cost management initiatives in India. Mr. Kapoor has been recipient of 'CFO 100 Roll of honour' from CFO India for four years consecutively from 2011 to 2014. In 2015 he was awarded the CFO League of Excellence Award by CFO India. He has also been recognized as Digitalist Top 25 Thought Leaders in India by SAP in 2015. He has been featured in many magazines and journals and is a regular speaker at various forums.
Ms. Kiran Gupta - Director
Ajay Kapoor
Ms. Kiran Gupta holds a B.Tech (Electrical) degree from Delhi College of Engineering with 'GOLD Medal' from Delhi University. She has vast experience as a TBEM Assessor and has undertaken Technology Innovation workshop at IIM-B.

Ms. Gupta has an overall experience of 24 years in the Power Sector covering various Consultancy Projects for Design, Erection and Commissioning under Industrial and government domain with Tata Consulting Engineers for initial years.
Thereafter, she joined Tata Power DDL under Corporate Operations Services and led the Engineering and Procurement group for developing all Utility equipment specifications, Operation Manuals and Inspection Plans including Grid substations.

She is presently heading Customer Services and Key Consumers department including all High Revenue Consumers (>100kW and Xpress consumers) with dedicated services. This also includes assuring Performance Assurance requirements as laid by Delhi Regulatory Electricity Commission to ensure statutory compliances for 1.64 million customers. Various technological interventions like ADMS/BCM, digitized connect for customer convenience along with engagement platforms across segments have ensured effective Customer Relationship Management delivering Value added services for Key customers.
She has participated as Speaker in various International Power Summit and Conferences on 'PPP model' at Munich, Bishkek and Australia. She has been conferred with 'Best TBEM Assessor' award and also recognized for sharing best Customer Centric practices on Tata EDGE platform.
Mr. Sanjeev Mehra - Managing Director
Mr. Sanjeev Mehra is B.Tech (Electrical), and PG Diploma in Business Administration. He has a vast experience of over 29 years in Power Sector. He started his career in NTPC as an Executive Trainee in Electrical Design Department & worked there for almost 9 years. Thereafter he joined Power Grid Corporation of India Limited in the Commercial Department. He has taken various challenges in his previous assignments.
When trading of power was conceived and PTC India Limited was formed, he joined it as an initial employee and worked in various functions before joining Tata Power Trading Company Limited as Managing Director in September 2011.
Board Of Directors
home :: about us :: board of directors
Board of Directors
Tata Code of Conduct
Contact : Tata Power Trading Co. Ltd., B12/13, 2nd Floor, Shatabdi Bhavan, Sector 4, Noida, Uttar Pradesh- 201301, India.
Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Disclaimer2008 © Tata Power Trading Company, Ltd. All rights reserved.